Thursday, November 21, 2013

Review: All Our Yesterday (All Our Yesterday #1) by Cristin Terrill

Title: All Our Yesterday (All Our Yesterday #1)
Author: Cristin Terrill
Published: September 3rd 2013
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
My rating: 4.5 stars
"You have to kill him." Imprisoned in the heart of a secret military base, Em has nothing except the voice of the boy in the cell next door and the list of instructions she finds taped inside the drain.

Only Em can complete the final instruction. She’s tried everything to prevent the creation of a time machine that will tear the world apart. She holds the proof: a list she has never seen before, written in her own hand. Each failed attempt in the past has led her to the same terrible present—imprisoned and tortured by a sadistic man called the doctor while war rages outside.

Marina has loved her best friend James since the day he moved next door when they were children. A gorgeous, introverted science prodigy from one of America’s most famous families, James finally seems to be seeing Marina in a new way, too. But on one disastrous night, James’s life crumbles apart, and with it, Marina’s hopes for their future. Now someone is trying to kill him. Marina will protect James, no matter what. Even if it means opening her eyes to a truth so terrible that she may not survive it. At least not as the girl she once was.

All Our Yesterdays is a wrenching, brilliantly plotted story of fierce love, unthinkable sacrifice, and the infinite implications of our every choice.
Time travel is not exactly my favorite concept in a book and most of the time I avoid reading them. So it was actually quite surprising when I found myself picking this up, turning each page eagerly and digging the book with such enthusiasm in one night! Cristin Terrill's All Our Yesterday definitely took me by surprise with it's clever and thrilling concept, fantastic characters and sweet romance. And I just so so loved it!

Ironically enough, my favorite part of the story is actually the time-travel itself - the whole re-writing of history, the connection of the past and the present, how things turned out like that and how they all add-up in the end. It was very interesting and impressive as Terrill presented it in such a mind-boggling and clever manner. I enjoyed predicting and finding out how each turn around will affect and change the course of the story. 

With the way the story was presented, we were able to see the changes from the past Marina, Finn and James to the present them. The inbetweens during the time travel, what led to this and to that, things they had gone through - we were able to understand how all of these contributed to the development and growth of their characters. It was an effective presentation because I quickly became invested with the characters - with their relationship and the friendship and love between them - it's quite impossible not to be emotionally involve as well. 

And I wouldn't be ending this without, of course, the mention of romance. I loved the subtle way it was handled in this book but never lost the sweet and swooning effects it should invoke upon its readers. It was lovely, heartwarming and achingly sweet. 

Although I was satisfied with the overall of the story, I felt some things could still be add up and developed on the story so I was really happy when I found out that there would be a sequel for this book! It's a little hard to imagine what the next book would be especially with that pretty clean ending but of course, I certainly won't pass up another whole book with Finn! Lol!

This is a must read! I highly recommend Finn this! ;D     

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (#31) : What I Though Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

"Waiting on Wednesday" is a weekly event hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine, that spotlight upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" is..

Title: What I Though Was True
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Expected Publication: April 15th 2014
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions. Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti
After enjoying and loving Jase *coughs* I mean, My Life Next Door I made it a promise that I'll be looking out for any books coming from its author and I'd be sure to have it on my TBR. So when I discover that a new book is coming and when I realized what the book will be about well, I was just ecstatic! I can already feel it's going to be a great book full of swoon-worthy and adorable scene! I can't wait to meet Gwen and Cassidy. Hopefully they'll be as lovely as Sam and Jase! :D


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...